30 Days of Doctor Who – Day 13

Published May 6, 2011 by Teresa

DAY 13 – Favorite Era visited by The Doctor & Co.

This is a difficult one to answer! Is the meme asking about my favorite EARTH era that The Doctor has visited? Also, which timeline are we talking about?

Such a temporal/species-centric question! :)

For the sake of simplicity, I’ll stick to Earth history…

The Far Future

I’m more intrigued by the future than I am by the past, and what sealed the deal for me as far as being a Whovian was the second episode of New Who, “The End of the World,” where we get to see what it would be like to experience a time beyond human existence through Rose. It is such an enormous, yet exciting concept for me, which makes episodes like this one, “New Earth”, “The Impossible Planet”/”The Satan Pit”, or “Utopia”/”The Sound of Drums” fascinating to me. I’m much more interested in seeing the possibilities in where we’ll go as a species, rather than interacting with where we’ve already been.

I guess that’s why I’m more of an aliens/spaceships kind of a girl and less of a Hobbit/dragon/broadsword kind of a girl, because if I had a time machine, that’s where I’d want to go. Which is strange, because I’m not interested in my personal future – like, I wouldn’t want to know when/where/how I’m going to die – but I’m desperately interested in where humanity is going to be in a million years. If it exists at all.

So that’s my favorite Doctor Who era – Humanity’s Far Future. I think what I love most of all about science fiction is the idea that humanity will always be kicking and screaming somewhere in the universe (even if we have to be suspended on racks and moisturized, or pumped with every disease). I love the idea that we’re here to stay.

2 comments on “30 Days of Doctor Who – Day 13

  • Humans as tri-galactic corporate conquerers and slave traders or intrepidly stupid explorers or refugees and apocalypse escapees and tourists. The future says a lot about humanity’s past and present too. Love the smell of Apple Grass.

  • I’m curious if you’ve read any Asimov? If you’re interested in the future of humanity the Foundation series is RIGHT up your alley!

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 252 other followers

