You Don’t Need to Go to SDCC to Be Eyeball-Deep in Geekery

Published July 23, 2010 by Teresa

Magda Apanowicz, Sasha Roiz, Alessandra Torresani, and Esai Morales at the SyFy Upfronts this year

San Diego Comic Con is this week.  Even if I’d been able to afford the trip, which I couldn’t, by the time I looked at prices it was mostly sold out.  Ah, well.  From what I hear, it’s become an overcrowded, Hollywood circle-jerk at which you couldn’t even find an actual comic if you wanted to.  So, I suppose I’m better off at home indulging in my geekery full-on.

(That’s a lie.  I’m SO JEALOUS OF EVERYONE WHO’S THERE RIGHT NOW! Especially everyone who can go to the Caprica panel!)

But there’s geeking-out to be done on the homefront, and that’s just what I’m going to continue to do, even in the face of #SDCC-tagged Tweets and a million emails from comics publishers and TV shows I follow letting me know where their booths/panels/signings are.

In fact, I’ve just written an article about a show that will be prominently featured at SDCC – Caprica!  Word just came down from on high that the second half of Caprica’s first season will air in January 2011.  But never fear, for I’m here to help you get through the Caprica drought!  Check out “Beating Caprica Withdrawal 2: Electric Boogaloo” for suggestions on how you can make the most of this too-long hiatus.  Beating Caprica Withdrawal will be a series of articles between now and January, and I have some big stuff planned for it!  So, stay tuned!

In fact, the Caprica panel at SDCC is THIS MORNING!  Those of you lucky enough to go – or lucky enough to get pictures/autographs/face time with anyone on the Caprica team, leave a comment here w/a way to contact you!  An upcoming Caprica Tor post will include fan experiences at SDCC!  And have fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

