Al Día Post: “Reseña crítica: The Words”

Published September 10, 2012 by Teresa

As you may or may not have heard, I’ve recently joined Al Día, Philadelphia’s #1 Spanish-language newspaper, as a pop culture columnist, which makes me extremely happy. :) It’s pretty cool to see my stuff in Spanish! So, here’s what I’ll be doing with these posts. When they go up, I’ll post the links here the way I do all my other writing for those of you who want to read the pieces in Spanish. :) Then, at the end of the week, I’ll do an “Al Día Redux” where I’ll post the piece in English here at The Experience. This way, no one need be deprived of my illustrious words. (Well, no one who speaks either Spanish or English, anyway)

This week, I reviewed the new Bradley Cooper/Zoe Saldana movie, The Words!

EXTRACTO:

Siendo escritora y predispuesta a pensar que las novelas (y las palabras) son importantes ¿cómo es qué no sentí que la película fuera completamente satisfactoria?

Por un lado, no todos las actuaciones son tan buenas como las que ya he mencionado. Por ejemplo, la actuación de Dennis Quaid —en su rol de Clay Hammond, el autor de la novela titular de la película— es rutinaria, y en ningún momento se sintió sincera o interesante. Olivia Wilde tiene absolutamente la sensualidad necesaria para su rol de Daniela, pero el personaje en sí es un cliché mal escrito (una alumna de posgrado atractiva e inteligente que se enamora de un escritor mayor). No hay ninguna química entre Quaid y Wilde, y eso hace que sea aún más difícil aceptar la diferencia de edades entre ellos.

Para leer el examen completo, o a dejar un comentario, haga CLIC AQUÍ.

.

3 comments on “Al Día Post: “Reseña crítica: The Words”

  • It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

    • Thank you so much for the compliment, Sol! :) That’s really nice of you to say. I’m going to be re-vamping the blog soon, and there might be a Donate button included in that plan… :)

      But if you’d like to help NOW (as well as read some of my fiction), click on the Merchandise tab up top and purchase a copy of my chapbook, “On the Ground Floor!” That money goes directly to me and my goings-on here. :) It’s a great way to support what I do, and also you can check out some short stories of which I’m very proud!

      Thank you!

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 276 other followers

