The Fray Project: Wiggle Your Big Toe (Health & Fitness)

Published April 16, 2012 by Teresa

For my April 2012 Health and Fitness goals, CLICK HERE.

I’ve been shitty about exercise. I mean, I’ve done it, like, in my life. And sometimes, I’ve even done it enthusiastically. But I’ve never done it regularly. I’ve never done it so that it becomes a part of me.

And that’s what I want. I don’t only want to exercise until I lose weight, then stop. I want to get to a place where being active is a part of who I am.

Now, here’s the thing. I hate gyms. Classes are cool, but gym equipment? Treadmills, ellipticals, weights? Just…being in a room using those things?

But I love stuff like ballroom dancing, nature, games, and kicking people in the face. So, I’m going to be making more of an effort to engage in a variety of activities that will appeal to those interests in the hopes of whittling my body down by actually doing things I find fun. When my body’s whittled down, it’ll be even easier for me to be active. So, I’ll do even more things. And on and on!

But first things first…

Wiggle your big toe.

I’m starting my exercise endeavors by regularly doing things that are easily at my disposal. my roommates have Zumba Fitness for their PS3, and I want to hike, something I actually really enjoy that is much more pleasant to do out here than it is in New York (less rocky terrain, lots of trees and lots of open sky, whereas NY hiking trails are more wooded).

As you may have seen, my goal for April was to do Zumba 7 times and schedule 2 hikes. I set those goals at the beginning of the month when “7 times” meant twice a week. But life got in the way, and I haven’t done any. Haven’t hiked, either. This means that if I’m gonna meet my April fitness goals, I’ll need to cram a lot into the next 2 weeks. This is still possible. I just need to do it. And once I start, I need to keep doing it.

Then the hard part will be over, and I can get those other piggies wiggling.

2 comments on “The Fray Project: Wiggle Your Big Toe (Health & Fitness)

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 279 other followers

