Tor Post: Once Upon a Time Vs. Grimm #10

Published February 9, 2012 by Teresa

You know what I used to do? I used to put posts up with links to stuff that I’ve written elsewhere so that people who read my blog can check out what I’m doing on other sites.

You know what I suck at lately? See above.

Allow me to correct that. :)

Over at Tor.com, I’ve been writing the Battle of the Network Fairy Tale Shows where week after week I pit Once Upon a Time and Grimm up against each other in a fierce battle for fairy tale domination. It’s actually not that fierce as I genuinely love both shows (with a slight preference for Grimm), but conflict attracts eyeballs, right?

This week, I compare OUaT Ep 11, “Fruit of the Poisonous Tree” to Grimm Ep 10, “Organ Grinder,” and it was a really strong week for both shows!

Once Upon a Time:

An engaging, entertaining episode that spoke to issues larger than the show. Is it okay, as Shakespeare writes in Merchant of Venice, “To do a great right, do a little wrong?” Because the actions are so extreme in this episode, both fan and casual viewer alike are drawn in to the morality debate. Was Emma right to break into Regina’s office to find proof of wrongdoing? Is Mary Margaret right to continue seeing David? Was The Genie right to kill the king that was keeping his wife a prisoner? Yes. And no. And yes again. “Fruit of the Poisonous Tree” is one of the most thought-provoking episodes of Once Upon a Time thus far.

Grimm:

“Organ Grinder” made me wholeheartedly and unabashedly love Nick. From his wanting to tell Juliette about his double life sooner rather than later, to his acknowledging that sometimes it’s better to act as a Grimm than a cop, we see more evidence of his growth here than we have in the nine episodes before it. It was a great choice to have Monroe become concerned that his friendship with Nick was limited to interaction about creature-related cases, and I’m thrilled that we and Nick now all know that his favorite color is red.

For the full review, as well as my crackpot theories about The Stranger on OUaT and Captain Renard on Grimm, check out Once Upon a Time Vs. Grimm Ep 10: Wishes, Organs, and My Crackpot Theories”

And if you have any comments, leave them over at the post! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

