Helping An Old Man Continue to Feel Relevant

Published November 13, 2011 by Teresa

This has been bandied around for a while, but a friend just alerted me to Frank Miller’s blog post about the Occupy Movement. When I read his post, I had to laugh, as it was so uninformed and blatantly wrong in many places that I couldn’t help but see it for what it was: the misguided attempt of an old comics creator to remain relevant by manufacturing controversy. It’s kind of what he’s known for, no? But usually, he’s limited his controversies to the realm of comics. It’s the part where he tries to generate real-life controversy that makes me laugh. I wasn’t going to post anything about it, because I didn’t want to give it more attention. However, I’m considering it my good deed for the day – making an old man feel like he matters.

So, you can link to the blog post above, and here’s what I posted as a comment. And that’s all I have to say about that.

I can see it now: Frank Miller, who hasn’t really been relevant to comics since Sin City, is looking for a way to regain relevance. He sees a popular movement, and decides to latch onto that.

“But not in support, no. EVERYONE’S lending support. I have to be different,” he says. “I have to be a maverick! And so, I will write the most vitriolic and uninformed blog post imaginable! After all, I’ve built a career on manufacturing “controversy” to make myself popular! Everything I do is “gritty” and “caustic.” People expect no less of me! I’ll tear Occupy Wall Street a new one! Then people will HAVE to pay attention to me!”

Have you ever visited one of the Occupy sites, Mr. Miller? Have you ever talked to anyone personally about the movement. And it IS a movement, despite your attempts to paint it otherwise. It’s in over 1,000 cities across the country and growing – and it’s a logical progression from all the protests that have already happened the world over. Tunisia, Egypt, the UK…the US, it seems, has been one of the last to wake up, but we HAVE woken up. And we’ve woken up in the interest of one very clear message:

Government should not be beholden to corporations.

This isn’t about keeping people from working hard or achieving. This isn’t about handouts, and it’s not about anarchy. It’s about the government doing its job and allowing everyone the opportunity to work hard and achieve, not stacking the deck against the country’s poorest in the interest of a select, wealthy few. That’s what this is about. And if you can’t understand that, pardon me for saying so, but you have your head up your ass. If you’d actually VISIT an Occupy site, you’d see that they’re a diverse group – men, women, young people, older people, some unemployed, some employed. All of them upset by the flagrant disregard our government has for the well-being of most of its people as it treats corporations as individuals.

I hope you enjoy the blog hits this uninformed outburst has given you. That’s all you’ll get out of it. The movement will go on. Whether it will succeed or not only time will tell, but it’s already gone further than skeptics have given it credit for. Why don’t you stick to writing comics. It’s what you’re good at. Well, it’s what you have experience in, anyway. “Good” is debatable.

6 comments on “Helping An Old Man Continue to Feel Relevant

  • As disagreeable as I found Miller’s remarks, I find rebuking him as an “old man” (at 54), to be just as prejudiced and ignorant as his initial remarks. I completely support Occupy, but squealing “Oooh you’re old! Creepy! And your comics are no good either!” is ad hominem and adds nothing to the dialogue.

    • Thank you for your comment Jon. I actually agree with you! Normally, this is not the way I think, talk, or interact with anyone. However, I found Miller’s rant so distasteful, prejudiced, and uninformed that I thought that the only way to get through to him, if at all, would be to hit him with a dose of his own medicine. It probably won’t make a dent, but his post didn’t make him seem like someone who would see reason, so I used a more in-your-face approach. I wasn’t particularly interested in a “dialogue” with him – although I did take the time to clarify a few points about which he was wrong – because he doesn’t seem like the kind of person who is interested in a dialogue.

      Was I being a bit childish? Perhaps. But Mr. Miller brought that out in me with his childish analysis of a complex movement. So, I don’t feel particularly bad about it. I engage in actual dialogue elsewhere.

  • I hate to say this, but I don’t think Frank Miller is actually just trying to keep himself relevant. I think he’s actually a conservative nut who has contempt for most people and has wet dreams about a rich and powerful man who beats the poor into submission with his fists while ignoring the jibbering liberal pundits on television. That’s pretty much what The Dark Knight Returns is about, and that’s one of the reasons it’s so unsettling.

    @Erica — Does that mean President Obama is actually Batman? Awesome!

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 276 other followers

