NYCC Recovery, Productivity, and EXCITING NEWS!

Published October 16, 2010 by Teresa

 

Sporting my Jayne hat at NYCC 2010

 

Hello everyone!

As always happens after a convention, I was a bit shell-shocked after NYCC. Even during those moments at the con when I was sitting quietly in the food court having a cup of coffee, my brain wouldn’t stop spinning. There was so much visual stimulation going on, so many conversations floating past me that I couldn’t stop myself from listening to…it was a lot of fun, but SUPREMELY EXHAUSTING.

This is just my excuse for not having blogged substantively in a while. Sorry! :)

And then there’s the writing about NYCC, which I’m still doing. I did write-ups at Tor.com for all three days, and there are specific panels I wanted to write about individually, because I thought they were worthy of attention. My NYCC Panel Spotlight on the Image Comics Writers Panel is already up, and more spotlights will be up this week. And then there are the creator interviews I have planned, which should be going up next week.

And in this flurry of activity, I realized something…I’ve written a LOT. So often, I think I’m not doing enough, or not being productive enough. Then I turn around and look at what I have produced and think, “Holy crap! Look at all those purdy words.” It’s a nice feeling to realize that I’m not as much of a slacker as I thought. :) Though it’s hard to NOT feel like a slacker. Freelancing makes you lose track of what day it is, and the hours of your day run together in such a way as to make you lose your concept of time altogether. I’ve noticed that it’s become hard for me to judge how long it will take me to do something. Did I spend an hour writing that article? Or did I spend 4 hours working on it? Lately, I’ve been shocked whenever I check the time, because I never see the time I expect to see. Losing track of time makes it hard to judge how much you’ve accomplished, because you always feel like you’re spinning your wheels not doing anything. What I have to remember is that all that wheel-spinning IS productivity, and I should stop and enjoy what I have done every once in a while.

So, I haven’t done a Teresa’s Tuesday Round-Up since Sept. 28th. :) I hope to get back to that being a regular feature, but if you don’t want to miss a link to my geeky online scribblings, or any of my writing news, please “LIKE” MY FACEBOOK FAN PAGE! Yeah, I know. It sounds so douchey to say I have a “fan page,” but really it’s just a repository for all my links and stuff, so you can have them all in one place.

And there’s some big news! My horror short story, “December”, has been selected to be in the next issue of Crossed Genres! It’s Issue #24, the “Characters of Color” issue, and it will be available for purchase November 1st! It’s the first time I’ve sold a piece of my fiction, so I’m very excited about it. You might have already read “December” at this very blog, but now that it’s been edited for publication, I’ve taken the story down. So, the ONLY way to read the new-and-improved version it will be by snagging a copy of Crossed Genres next month!

There’s other big publishing news coming up. I’m going to be included in another collection next year, but I can’t tell you what it is yet. However, and this is mostly for the geeks out there, you will SQUEE when I tell you what it is. :) Will fill you in on this Seekrit Project as soon as I can. I’m very excited about this one, too.

So, this year marks the first time I’ve ever been paid for my online writing, AND it marks my first sales to edited anthologies/collections. Not bad for a slacker! :)

4 comments on “NYCC Recovery, Productivity, and EXCITING NEWS!

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 278 other followers

